Alcor News

Alcor News

News Blog of the Alcor Life Extension Foundation

Alcor Welcomes Two New Directors and Six New Advisors

When we put out a call in mid-October for potential new Directors and Advisors, we were not expecting such a strong response. A good number of intelligent, talented, and experienced individuals stepped forth.

We are glad to announce that at the December 17, 2016 Alcor Board meeting, two individuals were invited to join the Alcor Board of Directors, and six individuals were invited to join the Advisors to the Board. This expands the Alcor Board from six to eight persons, leaving open one place. Welcome to Michael O’Neal, PhD and Andy Aymeloglu, who we believe will add tremendous value to the Board.

Welcome also to six new Advisors to the Board: Michael Anzis, Linda Chamberlain, David Kremelberg, PhD, James Miller, PhD. JD, James Ryley, PhD, and Robert Wilkes, PhD. Review of respondents is still underway, so additional Advisors may be appointed on a rolling basis.

Shortly after this announcement, the Board and Advisors pages will be updated, including short bios of the new directors.

Alcor Northern California Meeting

WHEN: October 23rd, 4:00 pm

WHERE: Cypress Point Lakes Condominium Complex
505 Cypress Point Dr., Mountain View, CA

HOST: Mark Galeck – phone 650-772-1251

Please bring food, we always have a potluck at the meetings. You can also bring a swimsuit and towel, there is sauna here and hot-tub. It takes a while to get the heat going in the clubhouse, so if it is cold outside, it will be cold inside for a little while – so bring some warm clothing.

Cryopreservation Minimums Unchanged

At the 2016 Annual Meeting, cryopreservation minimums were left unchanged, remaining at the levels set in 2011. These minimums remain:

Neuro: $80,000 (or $100,000 to receive a waiver of the $180/year Comprehensive Member Standby fee).
Whole Body: $200,000 (or $220,000 to receive a waiver of the $180/year CMS fee).

Look for an article in Cryonics magazine in the near future on likely trends in cryopreservation minimums in the near future and in the longer term.

Massive Dues Reduction for Members of 40+ Years

In recent years, Alcor has introduced discounts in membership dues for long-term members. Effective immediately, a new dues discount has been introduced. Anyone who has been a member for 40 years or longer will have their dues reduced to $60 per year ($15/quarter). This is around 11% of the current full rate for a first family member. This proposal, made by the president and passed unanimously by the board, is intended to build on previous discounts for long-term members and to reassure loyal members that their financial burden will fall over time.

2016 Annual Meeting Elections

Here are the results of the elections at the Alcor Annual Meeting on September 10, 2016:

After serving as a board member since 2001, Saul Kent did not stand for re-election, but remains an Alcor Advisory Board member. Alcor is grateful for his many years of service and activism, and for his key role in supporting development of technologies and companies vital to modern cryonics. Saul Kent’s support and promotion go back to within a few years of Alcor’s founding in 1972. Saul was the principal organizer and Director of Alcor’s first conference in 1978. In the 1980s he helped fund Alcor’s operations and research, and participated in and funded pivotal legal battles. During the 1990s, Saul established companies that developed the core technologies used by Alcor for stabilization, cryopreservation, and storage. After rejoining Alcor’s board in 2001, Saul established Suspended Animation, Inc., and continued to provide financial and legal support. Finding and hiring Alcor’s CEO Max More was another accomplishment directly attributable to Saul’s initiative and support.

All other directors were unanimously re-elected:
Catherine Baldwin
Ravin Jain
Ralph Merkle
Michael Riskin
Michael Seidl
Brian Wowk

President: Max More was re-relected unanimously.
CFO/treasurer: Michael Perry was re-relected unanimously.
Secretary: Michael Perry was re-relected unanimously.